Who We Are

The Sheriff’s Benevolent Posse was created to assist and support county law enforcement. We are a non-profit 501(c)3 charitable organization, which aids the Sheriff’s Office leadership by providing critical resources that help safeguard our community and the men and women who protect us every day. This results in improved agency performance, morale and effectiveness.

The Posse helps fill the gap between the County's increasing public needs for law enforcement and the tightening county budget. It functions primarily as a fund-raising vehicle, with the emphasis on supplementing equipment and training for our County's primary law enforcement personnel to assist them in their efforts to safeguard our community.

The Posse also works to enhance relations between the community and County law enforcement, promote public safety through special events and activities, and serve as a citizen-initiated conduit for informing the community about public safety issues and the extraordinary efforts of the men and women of the Sheriff's Office.


Mission Statement

The mission of the Santa Barbara County Sheriff’s Benevolent Posse is to assist the Sheriff’s Department by providing resources that improve agency performance, morale and effectiveness in its effort to safeguard our community.


Guiding Principles

The Sheriff’s Posse, a nonprofit charitable organization, works with the Santa Barbara Sheriff’s Department leadership to support county law enforcement by:

  • enhancing relations between the community and county law enforcement;
  • raising funds for exceptional equipment expenses;
  • promoting public safety through special events, activities and programs;
  • providing a civilian vehicle for informing the community about public safety issues.

P O S S EPeople Offering Support to Sheriff’s Efforts


2016 annual report2016 Annual Report

Download the Annual Report for 2016 - 2016 annual report 1.9mb



President - Richard S. Kline, Los Alamos

Vice President - Christopher Hartman, Santa Ynez

Vice President - Sara O'Shaughnessy, Santa Ynez

Treasurer - David Baskett, Orcutt

Secretary - Diana Vandervoort, Santa Barbara

Immediate Past President - John Wilczak, Santa Ynez



 Dr. Herb Barthels, Santa Barbara

David Baskett, Orcutt

Richard Berti, Santa Barbara

Bob Bryant, Santa Barbara

Brooks Firestone (Emeritus), Solvang

Justin Fox, Carpinteria

Lynn Gildred, Santa Ynez

Erin Graffy (Emeritus), Santa Barbara

Michael Hammer, Santa Barbara

Les Jones, Solvang

Richard Kline, Los Alamos

Cliff Lundberg, Santa Barbara

Dana Mazzetti, Santa Barbara

Jim Messina, Santa Ynez

Chris Nielsen, Solvang

Don Oaks, Santa Ynez

Sue Pohls, Buellton

Gary Waer. Solvang

John Wilczak, Santa Ynez

Chip Wullbrant, Ballard

The Board of Directors, all volunteers, are representatives of both North and South County and reside or have business in the County. Additional Directors may be added from time to time.